The Footballer of the Year Award

It was Charles Buchan, the publisher and writer of Football Monthly as well as one of the founding fathers of the FWA, who suggested that an award should be given “to the professional player who by precept and example is considered by a ballot of members to be the footballer of the year.”

That was back in 1947 and since then the Footballer of the Year Award has become the most prestigious award in the British game.

Voted for year on year by the FWA members, the first recipient was the legendary Sir Stanley Matthews and ever since players have been honoured for their achievements.


Raheem Sterling

Raheem Sterling  was voted the Footballer of the Year for 2019 by the Football Writers’ Association.

The Manchester City forward won by more than 100 votes from Liverpool’s Virgin van Dijk with Sergio Aguero coming in third.


Previous Winners – Footballer of the year

Women’s Footballer of the Year Award

This award was set up in 2018 to honour the best women footballers playing in England. The inaugural winner was Fran Kirby of Chelsea.


Nikita Parris of Manchester City won by the narrowest of margins – one vote – against  Vivianne Miedema of Arsenal. The City and England striker was a deserved winner in a poll of FWA members who regularly cover women’s football.


FWA Tribute Award

The FWA Tribute Award is presented on an annual basis to an individual that the committee feels has made an outstanding contribution to the national game.

The Award is presented at a gala dinner at The Savoy hotel every January.


Gareth Southgate

The England manager was honoured for his leading his team – on and off the field – to a World Cup semi-final and reconnecting disenchanted fans with their national side. Southgate was quick to praise those around him:

Previous Winners – Tribute

The FWA are committed to improving both press facilities and relationships with all football clubs throughout the divisions. If you have an issue you would like to raise,
Click here to email the FWA National Committee.

Football Writers' Association Est. 1947. This site Copyright © Football Writers' Association. Photography © Action Images