Football Writers’ Association Student Football Writer of the Year Awards

As part of its long-term commitment to the next generation of football writers, this year the FWA is initiating a pair of exciting new awards. Named after two much missed greats of the trade, the Vikki Orvice Award and the Hugh McIlvanney Award are for the Student Football Writers of the Year and open to anyone who is currently engaged in full time education.

And the good news is, as competitions go, this one could not be simpler to enter.

We are asking for one piece of writing, of less than 800 words. It might be a match report (either of a student game or a professional encounter, watched on television), or it could be an interview, or a piece of analysis or a just personal take on your own experience, as a fan or a participant. Work does not need to have been previously published.

We have assembled a judging panel of eminent football writers and broadcasters, including Henry Winter, Alyson Rudd, Paul Hayward, Jacqui Oatley and Jonathan Liew to assess the work. And what they will be looking for are three things: originality, insight and delivery.

The prize is substantial. As well as a trophy, there will be copies of the five shortlisted titles in the FWA Football Book of the Year Award, free membership of the FWA for a year, an opportunity for work experience, plus the chance to benefit from mentoring from a member of the judging panel. There will also be a £500 prize for both award winners.

Items should be submitted by email (please cut and paste your work into the body of email, don’t send it as an attachment) to this address: by Friday April 23. The winners will be announced in May.

Football is working to address its inequalities and this is equally necessary in the media. We at the FWA actively welcome submissions from people of all backgrounds, cultures, faiths and religions. These awards are primarily established to encourage and build a pathway for the next generation of football writers, who represent our society now.

Tags: , ,

10 thoughts on “Football Writers’ Association Student Football Writer of the Year Awards

  1. Hi there,

    My Name is Oran. I am 14 Years old and I run an Scottish Football YouTube channel. I have over 1000 Subscribers and over 10,000 views. I have interviewed Sport Reporters such as Luke Shanley and also Football Commentators such as Rory Hamilton and Ian Crocker. I have always been an Aspiring Football Writer. I currently write for ‘This Week On The SPFL Podcast’ . At the age of 14 I have interviewed my inspirations and also soon to be featured on the News!

    Kind Reagrds


    • Hi Oran, sounds like you are well on the way to a career in sports journalism. This competition is primarily geared towards football coverage in England, which is where we at the FWA are based. There is a Scottish Football Writers’ Association – have you contacted them?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *