Footballer of the Year 2017

Voting opens for the 2017 Footballer of the Year on April 24, ahead of the dinner on May 18 at the Landmark Hotel, London.
Jamie Vardy won a hotly-contested vote last May, and it is likely to be just as competitive this season with so many high-profile players in the running.


FWA Student Membership

Calling all sports journalism students

The FWA is opening a new category of membership for aspiring football writers who are studying sports or football journalism in all forms of media, priced at only £5 per season.

Student members do not enjoy the same voting rights as full members for the Footballer of the Year, or discounted tickets to the main FWA dinners, but will receive the FWA handbook which is an invaluable resource for budding journalists.  FWA members are always happy to pass on advice and give opportunities to young football journalists, and being part of the association can be ...


Liverpool FC and The Sun – FWA statement

The Football Writers Association notes the recent decision by Liverpool FC to ban The Sun. As an organisation that believes in relationships with all clubs and good conduct we regret the impact on members and will continue to support them. We do understand the hurt and anger caused by the original story published in 1989.



The FWA are committed to improving both press facilities and relationships with all football clubs throughout the divisions. If you have an issue you would like to raise,
Click here to email the FWA National Committee.

Football Writers' Association Est. 1947. This site Copyright © Football Writers' Association. Photography © Action Images