The Football Writers’ Association are pleased to confirm José Mourinho will be honoured at the annual Gala Tribute Evening at the Savoy, London, on January 19, 2014.

The Chelsea manager said: “I am delighted that the FWA have chosen me. When I see who the association have honoured over the years I realise how much it means to be alongside so many of the greats of English football.”

It promises to be a special night and Andy Dunn, the FWA chairman, said: “It’s great to have José back in our game and we are thrilled to be honouring him.”

During his first spell with Chelsea, Mourinho led the club to two Barclays Premier League titles, one FA Cup, two League Cups and the Community Shield. It was the most successful spell in the club’s history.

In 10 seasons of club management with FC Porto, Chelsea, Inter Milan and Real Madrid, Mourinho won the domestic league seven times, the Champions League twice and the UEFA Cup once. Between 2003 and 2012, Mourinho did not go a single calendar year without winning at least one trophy.

The Guinness Book Of World Records recognised Mourinho for his unbeaten home league record spanning eight years and 362 days at four different clubs. The record began after nine-man FC Porto’s 3-2 defeat by Beira-Mar on February 23, 2002. Mourinho did not lose for the remainder of his time with the Portuguese club, nor with Chelsea and Inter Milan, until the record run ended almost nine years later at Real Madrid with a 1-0 loss to Sporting Gijón on April 2, 2011 – their first win at the Bernabéu in 16 years.

Through his 150-match home record against 107 different coaches, Mourinho amassed 125 wins and 25 draws, 342 goals scored, 87 conceded.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *