Chelsea midfielder Eden Hazard is the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year 2015

The Belgian international collected some 53% of Chelsea v Liverpool - Barclays Premier League
members’ votes, making him a comfortable winner ahead of Tottenham striker Harry Kane, with his Chelsea team-mate and captain John Terry third.

The 24-year-old playmaker has scored 20 goals in all competitions so far and created many more as Jose Mourinho's side secured a first Barclays Premier League title since 2009/2010.

Hazard will be honoured with the prestigious FWA accolade, which has been running since 1948, at a gala dinner held at the Landmark London Hotel on May 21.

As well as Hazard and Terry, Chelsea midfielder Cesc Fabregas, defender Branislav Ivanovic and Thibaut Courtois also featured in the top 10 of the FWA poll, which represented a turnout of 90%.

The other players to receive votes were Alexis Sanchez of Arsenal, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero and Leicester's Esteban Cambiasso.

FWA chairman Andy Dunn, of the Sunday Mirror, said: "The list of truly world class players on the Football Writers' Association roll of honour is a long one and Eden Hazard is a worthy addition.

"A creator, a goalscorer and the hardest of workers, Hazard has been a constant source of threat for the Barclays Premier League champions.

"But it is not just his trickery, his pace, his artistry and his marksmanship that make Hazard such an invaluable component of Jose Mourinho's Chelsea squad, it is his durability.

“Hazard has started all 36 Premier League matches and, considering the particularly close attention he receives from opponents, that is a feat in itself.

“But, of course, it is his electrifying, attacking talent  that has made Eden the first Belgian to win the Footballer of the Year award.

“He is a brilliant successor to Luis Suarez and we just hope he stays in the Premier League for a lot longer than Luis did after collecting the trophy.”

Former Lille midfielder Hazard, signed by Chelsea for £32million in June 2012, was also named Player of the Year by the Professional Footballers' Association.

Photography courtesy of Action Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *