Tag Archives: Footballer of the Year

Jamie Vardy voted FWA Footballer of the Year 2016

Leicester forward Jamie Vardy is the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year 2016.

The England international collected 36% of members’ votes, making him a clear winner ahead of Foxes' team-mates Riyad Mahrez and N'Golo Kante.

The 29-year-old has scored 24 goals for club and country so far this season, which have helped to put Leicester on the verge of winning the Barclays Premier League title.

Tags: , , , , , ,


Bale named FWA Footballer of the Year

By Christopher Davies
Photography: Action Images

Gareth Bale has been chosen as the Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

Bale is the first Tottenham Hotspur player to win the award since David Ginola in 1999 and the first Wales international to be selected for English football’s oldest individual trophy since Everton’s Neville Southall in 1985.

Tags: , , ,


Robin van Persie named FWA Footballer of the Year 2012

Image courtesy of Action Images.

Arsenal captain Robin van Persie has been voted 2012 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association.

The Holland striker, 28, topped the poll of journalists with a landslide victory ahead of Manchester United duo Wayne Rooney in second place and Paul Scholes third with Fulham's Clint Dempsey fourth.

Tags: , , ,


Football Writers honour United duo

We are delighted to announce that Manchester United legends Paul Scholes and Gary Neville will be the first joint recipients of the Football Writers Association Tribute Award at a Gala Dinner at The Savoy, London, in January 2012.

The recently retired duo follow a long line of Old Trafford stars dating back to Sir Bobby Charlton in 1989 with Denis Law (1994), Sir Alex Ferguson (1996), George Best (2000), Bryan Robson (2006), Ryan Giggs (2007) and David Beckham (2008) all recipients of the prestigous award for their contribution to the game.

Tags: , , , , ,