Tag Archives: fwa events

FWA National Golf Day, Sept 29

This year's FWA National Golf Day, again generously sponsored by Vauxhall, returns to the beautiful Stoke Park in Buckinghamshire on Monday September 29.

Reception and bacon butties from 9.30am, tee off times will be from around 11am, with late afternoon prize giving buffet meal.

The format will follow previous years with teams of four, stableford format with best two scores on each hole counting to the team prize. There is also an individual competition for FWA members.

Tags: , ,


Football Writers honour United duo

We are delighted to announce that Manchester United legends Paul Scholes and Gary Neville will be the first joint recipients of the Football Writers Association Tribute Award at a Gala Dinner at The Savoy, London, in January 2012.

The recently retired duo follow a long line of Old Trafford stars dating back to Sir Bobby Charlton in 1989 with Denis Law (1994), Sir Alex Ferguson (1996), George Best (2000), Bryan Robson (2006), Ryan Giggs (2007) and David Beckham (2008) all recipients of the prestigous award for their contribution to the game.

Tags: , , , , ,


Emotional Henry receives Tribute Award

Thierry Henry collected the 2011 Football Writers Association Tribute Award at a gala dinner at The Savoy Hotel in London on Sunday January 16.

The former Arsenal and Barcelona forward, 33, now enjoying life in the United States with Major League Soccer outfit New York Red Bulls, was guest of honour as the FWA returned to The Savoy for the first time since it's multi-million pound refurbishment three years ago.

Tags: , , ,


FWA National Golf Day

The FWA National Golf Day is back! Thanks to the generous sponsorship of Vauxhall, the 2011 event will be held on Monday October 3 on the New Course at the London Hatfield Golf Club, which is about ten minutes from junction 24 of the M25.

The format will be the same as when the Day used to be held at Mottram Hall. There will be bacon rolls and coffee on arrival before a mid morning shotgun start. A warm buffet will be served afterwards along with prize giving.

Tags: ,


Staggered Parker collects FWA award

Scott Parker admitted he was "staggered" to have collected the 2011 Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year Award.

In what was one of the closest contests of recent seasons, Parker topped the poll of journalists ahead of Tottenham defender Gareth Bale.

The England international - who started his career at Charlton before spells with Chelsea and Newcastle ahead of joining the Irons in 2007 - was guest of honour as he collected the prestigious accolade, which has been running since 1948, at a gala dinner at the Lancaster London Hotel on May 12.

Tags: , , , ,


Report on FWA North East Dinner

THE North East Branch of the FWA enjoyed a fantastic 30th anniversary awards evening at Ramside Hall in Durham.

Picking up the North East Player of the Year was Sunderland striker Darren Bent, watched by his manager Steve Bruce, chairman Niall Quinn as well as his team-mates.

Following the sacking of Chris Hughton just days before the awards, Alan Pardew made his first appearance at the event and was given a good reception by both Sunderland and Newcastle fans. His assistant Steve Stone picked up Newcastle United's Team of the Year Award in Hughton's absence as well as Young Player ...

Tags: , ,


Report on FWA Northern Dinner

THE 28th Northern FWA Managers' Awards Dinner was a significant occasion in the association's history, as the £80,000 barrier was cracked for children's charities.

The raffle and auction at the function, held at Manchester's Radisson Edwardian Hotel on November 14, raised £4,500 with The Seashell Trust - formlery the Royal Schools for the Blind - and Friends of Muscular Dystrophy the two charities to benefit this year.

Tags: , ,


Rooney delighted by Football Writers prize

England striker Wayne Rooney takes his place among the FWA Footballers of the Year.

The 24-year-old Manchester United forward topped the poll of journalists with just over 81% of a record number of votes cast, finishing ahead of Chelsea forward Didier Drogba and Manchester City's Carlos Tevez to win the prestigious accolade, which has been running since 1948.

Tags: , , , ,