Footballer of the Year 2017

PrintVoting opens for the 2017 Footballer of the Year on April 24, ahead of the dinner on May 18 at the Landmark Hotel, London.
Jamie Vardy won a hotly-contested vote last May, and it is likely to be just as competitive this season with so many high-profile players in the running.
It will be a special occasion as the FWA marks its 70th anniversary since being formed in 1947, after which Sir Stanley Matthews became the first Footballer of the Year.
Sir Stan was a perfect example of the fundamental principle of the award, which is it should go “to the player who by precept and example, on the field and off, shall be considered to have done the most for football.”
Members will be able to vote online on the FWA website once voting begins on April 24, or by contacting executive secretary Paul McCarthy. The deadline for all votes will be May 7.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *