Ruben Dias – the Footballer of the Year 2021

The Football Writers’ Association is delighted to announce that Ruben Dias has been voted Footballer of the Year 2021, the first defender to win the award since Steve Nicol in 1989.

The Manchester City centre-back was a comfortable winner ahead of Tottenham’s Harry Kane and City team-mate, Kevin De Bruyne. Overall nine City players received votes which accounted for over 50 per cent of the total votes cast.

He said: “It’s a huge privilege. I’m very, very happy. Obviously I could not have done it without the success of the team. I think me receiving this prize is the major example of our team, of how our team works the way, the way we build our game.

I think it reflects all the togetherness, we have in the pitch, and essentially that – how we perform and the spirit that is in the team and with this team, with these players.For me to be receiving this award, I think it means just that, how we play like a family.”

FWA chair Carrie Brown said: “Ruben Dias turned heads soon after his arrival in Manchester, a 23- year-old belying his age with fortitude, steel, a relentless drive for perfection and an almost superhuman ability to read and anticipate phases of play.

“This, while commendable, would not alone qualify a player to win the FWA Footballer of the Year award. One of our founding members, Charles Buchan, prescribed the award to recognise and celebrate a player who ‘by precept and example’ is considered to be the footballer of the year.

“Pep Guardiola improves players, shapes them but at no point, has a new signing arrived into one of Pep’s already trophy-laden teams and exerted such influence.

“Dias has demanded the highest standards which have resulted in the swiftest of upturns in fortune not solely for Dias himself, but team-mates to his left, right, front and centre.

“Ruben Dias is our Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year for his leadership on and off the pitch as much as for the infectious joy he derives from executing the art of defending to perfection.

“I wonder if it is quite poignant that, in a time when so many find their backs against the wall, there is heart to be taken from the joy Dias exudes in standing firm and quelling the storm.

“Perhaps, in this of all seasons, Dias is the leader we all need.”

Watch our interview with Ruben Dias here:



  1. Avatar

    Dima Ulianov

    May 20, 2021 at 8:59 am

    Deserved but
    I voted for Bruno Fernandes

  2. Avatar

    Reflective Football

    May 21, 2021 at 12:41 am

    Poignant indeed. What a fitting reward to reflect sports star’s nature and character that is very relevant for the times we are in. You nailed it in the last two sentences of this article. That’s the thought that makes this reward so fitting for the winner. A time when clubs, fans, sporting organisations, corporate entities and communities defended against onslaught of covid, the infectious resilience to overcome challenge and the contagious resolve to stand firm and quell the storm was there. This lad was a catalyst to it all within the makeup and context of his team. It was the nature and character of leadership apparenttly needed in all spheres of our lives throughout. The battle with covid. Take a bow to the panel who identified and chose the winner. Ruben Dias was gifted for this occasion in the EPLs history. He happened to showcase what teams and society needed at large. Congratulations to him, a rightful deserving winner and well done to the FWA for this award.

  3. Avatar


    May 25, 2021 at 10:00 am

    He deserved. He is an exceptional player and the best defender over the World currently

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top