FedEx European Football Journalist of the Year

The FWA and FedEx Express are delighted to announce the formation of a new award, the FedEx European Football Journalist of the Year, exclusively for members of the Football Writers’ Association.

In recognition of FedEx Express’ status as an official sponsor of the UEFA Champions League, we are looking for entrants who have covered all aspects of European football as either a writer, podcaster or broadcaster. The award is not simply for matchday coverage but for entries that show originality, creativity, and a breadth of coverage. Applicants must be FWA members.

Entrants will be asked to supply a maximum of three articles, podcasts or broadcast reports/interviews which will be judged by a four-person panel comprising:

  • Paul McCarthy – Executive Secretary, FWA
  • Gary Lineker – BBC and BT Sport Broadcaster
  • Mike Allen – Former Head of Sport at Reach Publications
  • Jacqui Oatley – FWA National Committee member and broadcaster

Entries (PDF, link or video) can be from last season’s European competitions (21/22) or this season (22/23) and must be submitted directly to FWA Executive Secretary, Paul McCarthy (

The closing date for entries is May 1, 2023, and the winner will receive their trophy and the prize of a UEFA Champions League matchday experience for two people for the 2023/24 season, courtesy of FedEx Express, at the Footballer of the Year Dinner on May 25, 2023.

FWA chair, John Cross, said: “We were delighted to welcome FedEx Express to our family of sponsors at the start of this season and are proud that, together, we’re able to recognise the outstanding coverage of European football that our members produce week-in, week-out. It’s a hugely welcome addition to our calendar of awards.”

Brenda McWilliams, VP of Communications, Brand & Marketing Operations at FedEx Express, said “We recognise the vital role that journalists play in football. Their tireless work is a defining factor in the continued growth of the game, bringing supporters closer to the teams and competitions they love. We’re really excited to see the work that will be submitted in the coming weeks.”

Entries open from March 10 – May 1, 2023.

For any queries or more information, contact Paul McCarthy or 07831 650977

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top