Phil Foden and Bunny Shaw win FWA Footballer of the Year awards

Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Bunny Shaw are voted 2024 Footballer of the Year and Women’s Footballer of the Year.

Phil Foden has been voted Footballer of the Year and his Manchester City clubmate Khadija ‘Bunny’ Shaw has won our Women’s Footballer of the Year award for 2024.

Foden took 42 per cent of the votes, heading off competition from Arsenal’s Declan Rice in second and his team-mate Rodri, who came third. Martin Odegaard, Ollie Watkins and Cole Palmer made up the rest of the top six, while another 12 players received votes from the FWA, which has almost 900 members.

Foden, 23, has had a stellar season, with 24 goals and 10 assists for Pep Guardiola’s side as they chase a Premier League and FA Cup double. He is the third City player in the past four years to win football’s oldest individual award, following team-mates Erling Haaland last year and Ruben Dias in 2021.

He said: “Being named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year is a huge honour. I’m very, very happy to receive this award but I could not have done it without the help of my team-mates. We have a very special squad of players at City, and I’m privileged to be a part of that group.

“I want to thank all my team-mates as well as Pep and the coaches for all the support and advice they have given me.

“I strive to be the best that I can be every single day and that is all down to the way the manager and my colleagues always seek to improve and get better.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who voted for me as well as my fellow nominees.

“I’m immensely proud to have won this award. Now I am focused on seeking to finish the season as strongly as possible and to try to help City win more trophies.”

Shaw’s win means Manchester City players have taken both major awards for the second time in five years, after Raheem Sterling and Nikita Parris were honoured by the FWA in 2019.

The Jamaican international pipped Chelsea’s Lauren James, with the two taking 80 per cent of what was a record number of votes for the Women’s Footballer of the Year.

Shaw’s team-mates Alex Greenwood and Yui Hasegawa were third and fourth, with Brighton’s Elisabeth Terland and City keeper Khiara Keating completing the top six.

Shaw’s season is over after breaking a foot last week, but she looks set to finish as the WSL’s top scorer as Gareth Taylor’s side close in on the league title.

She said: “I am very proud and privileged to have received this award and to be recognised in this way is a special honour. I want to also thank all of my team-mates. They provide me with the chances to score goals and I could not have won this award without them.

“I also owe such a lot to Gareth, the rest of the coaching team and everyone else here at City. It’s a pleasure to be part of such a special group.

“Many thanks to all who voted for me and to my fellow nominees. It means such a lot to have won this award. Hopefully the side can now finish off the season in style and give everyone special cause to celebrate.”

Both winners will be honoured at the Footballer of the Year dinner in London on Thursday May 16.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top