FWA members can vote from today until April 30 for the Footballer of the Year and Women’s Footballer of the Year.

The vote is completely open and you can vote for any player in the English professional game – which obviously excludes those playing abroad.

Also remember that the original citation for the Footballer of the Year, going back to our first winner Sir Stanley Matthews in 1948, is that the award should be given “to the professional player who by precept and example is considered by a ballot of members to be the footballer of the year.

Memebers can vote for any player they wish, and there is no shortlist, but some of the leading candidates in the men’s game include Phil Foden, Rodri, Declan Rice, Martin Odegaard, Virgil Van Dijk and Mo Salah.

In terms of the Women’s Footballer of the Year, our WSL sub-committee have collated their thoughts on the leading candidates and their list includes:

Khiara Keating (Manchester City)
Bunny Shaw (Manchester City)
Yui Hasegawa (Manchester City)
Alex Greenwood (Manchester City)
Lauren James (Chelsea)
Sjoeke Nusken (Chelsea)
Elisabeth Terland (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Voting closes on April 30 and the winners will be revealed on May 3.

All FWA full members and student members will receive a unique voting code, and are also able to vote by contacting FWA Chief Executive Paul McCarthy via email ( or by WhatsApp (07831 650977) Please be sure to include your name.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top