Cattermole lands FWA North-East award

Sunderland midfielder Lee Cattermole has been voted the North East Football Writers’ Association’s Player of the Year for 2014.
The former Middlesbrough and Wigan player beat his ex-Sunderland team-mate Jack Colback into second place, with Middlesbrough captain Grant Leadbitter third. All three have come through North East Academies.

Middlesbrough’s England Under-21 international defender Ben Gibson has been named NEFWA Young Player of the Year, narrowly beating Boro team-mate Adam Reach, Newcastle defender Paul Dummett and former Hartlepool Luke James.

The North East Football Writers’ Association’s Player of the Year Dinner will be held at The Ramside Hall Hotel, Durham on Sunday November 30.

Former Sunderland captain Cattermole is the 32nd winner of the NEFWA Player of the Year Award, following former Newcastle midfielder Yohan Cabaye, the 2013 winner.

The event at The Ramside Hall Hotel will feature other awards and entertainment from former Carlisle boss Greg Abbott, currently number two to Shaun Derry at Notts County, and stand-up comedian Josh Daniels.

Tickets are available from 0191 375 3080

Newcastle United v Crystal Palace - Barclays Premier League

Pictures: Action Images

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top