Football Writers honour United duo

We are delighted to announce that Manchester United legends Paul Scholes and Gary Neville will be the first joint recipients of the Football Writers Association Tribute Award at a Gala Dinner at The Savoy, London, in January 2012.

The recently retired duo follow a long line of Old Trafford stars dating back to Sir Bobby Charlton in 1989 with Denis Law (1994), Sir Alex Ferguson (1996), George Best (2000), Bryan Robson (2006), Ryan Giggs (2007) and David Beckham (2008) all recipients of the prestigous award for their contribution to the game.

Announcing the news FWA Chairman Steve Bates said: “Gary Neville and Paul Scholes are outstanding examples of one club men who have played at the highest level for Manchester United and England throughout distinguished careers.

“We are delighted to be honouring them at our Gala Tribute Evening early next year on what promises to be a great night for the two players, their families and the FWA.”

Details of the dinner and ticket allocation for members will be announced shortly.

The Latest

To Top