Frank Lampard Sweeps to Footballer of the Year Award

FRANK LAMPARD has beaten off the challenge of his Chelsea team-mate John Terry to win the Football Writers’ Association vote as Footballer of the Year.

The Chelsea and England midfielder becomes only the second Englishman since Alan Shearer in 1994 to win football’s oldest and most prestigious individual award – Teddy Sheringham was the other in 2001.

Lampard and Terry polled more than 90 per cent of the votes, with Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher finishing a distant third.

Gerry Cox, Chairman of the FWA, said: “It was a close-run thing between the two Chelsea team-mates until a fortnight ago, but Frank Lampard ended up winning by a substantial margin.

“John Terry has been a huge player for Chelsea in what has been a fantastic season for the Blues, but Lampard has clearly convinced our members that he is the best player in the country and right up there with the world’s leading players.

“His all-round game is superb, his fitness phenomenal and the fact that he has weighed in with 19 goals this season makes him something special for any team.”

Lampard was runner-up to Thierry Henry in last year’s Footballer of the year award, as well as coming second for two years running in the PFA’s Player of the Year, which was won by Terry last month.

He becomes only the second Chelsea player to win Footballer of the Year, after Gianfranco Zola in 1997.

The Latest

To Top