Hat-trick Henry The Greatest

THIERRY HENRY is the greatest player in the history of English football awards after being voted Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association for the third time in four years.

The Arsenal and France striker was confirmed a clear winner ahead of runner-up John Terry of Chelsea and Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney, who finished third. Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard, the PFAs Player of the Year, finished fourth ahead of Joe Cole and last year’s winner Frank Lampard.

Henry was voted Footballer of the Year in 2003 and 2004, the first ever back-to-back winner, and the first overseas player to win the award twice. Now he has gone one better after shooting Arsenal into the Champions League final.

Paul Hetherington, Chairman of the FWA, said: “Henry is a deserving winner in a season when there have been several outstanding candidates, such as Terry, Rooney and Gerrard.

“Henry’s achievement ranks him up there as the greatest player in the 59-year history of the award.”

A delighted Henry said: “As I always say in football it is all about the team and without my team-mates I would not have won this award.

“What I am especially proud of, though, is that I am the first person to win the Footballer of the Year trophy three times.

“It’s always pleasing to be the first to achieve something – it’s a little piece of history.

“My hope now is that the team goes on to create history of their own by becoming the first ever Arsenal side to win the win the Champions League.

“I would like to thank all of the Football Writers’ Association members who voted for me. It’s a wonderful honour and I feel very privileged.”

The Latest

To Top