The 30th Northern Managers Award Dinner took place at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hotel in Manchester last night.

There were plenty of managers and coaches in attendance along with press and media from up and down the country to celebrate the award winners.

Nine awards were given out on the night and the managers who received the accolades are listed below.

Roberto Mancini was the last manager to be honoured on the night and it will please Manchester City fans that he is determined to win the award next year too, which will only happen if City win the league again of course.

It was somewhat appropriate that the event took place in Manchester after last season’s thrilling finale to the Barclays Premier League and chairman of the FWA Steve Bates took great pleasure in welcoming the managers to the evening.

“It’s often said that players take the glory while managers get the grief so we are delighted tonight to honour our award winners for their success last season,” said Bates.

Comedian Vince Miller was the Master of Ceremonies and was pleased to introduce special guest Graham Poll, who addressed the audience of whom many will have once used to write about his performance on a Saturday afternoon.

The nine award winning managers are as follows:

1 ROBERTO MANCINI (Manchester City) Barclays PL Champions.

2 KENNY DALGLISH (Liverpool) Carling League Cup Winners.

3 DAVE JONES (Sheffield Wednesday) npower Lge 1 runners-up.

4 SIMON GRAYSON (Huddersfield Town) npower Lge 1 p/off winners.

5 STEVE DAVIS (Crewe Alexandra) npower Lge 2 p/off winners.

6 JOHN SHERIDAN (Chesterfield) Johnstones Paint Trophy winners.


7 GARY MILLS (York City) FA Carlsberg Trophy winners and Blue Square Bet Premier play-off winners.

8 MICKY MELLON (Fleetwood Town) Blue Square Conference champions).

9 BILLY IRWIN (Dunston UTS) FA Carlsberg Vase winners.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top