Report on FWA North East Dinner

THE North East Branch of the FWA enjoyed a fantastic 30th anniversary awards evening at Ramside Hall in Durham.

Picking up the North East Player of the Year was Sunderland striker Darren Bent, watched by his manager Steve Bruce, chairman Niall Quinn as well as his team-mates.

Following the sacking of Chris Hughton just days before the awards, Alan Pardew made his first appearance at the event and was given a good reception by both Sunderland and Newcastle fans. His assistant Steve Stone picked up Newcastle United’s Team of the Year Award in Hughton’s absence as well as Young Player of the Year Andy Carroll’s accolade.

A special award went to non league Whitley Bay for winning the FA Vase Trophy for a second successive season while Niall Quinn was awarded the John Fotheringham Memorial Award for his contribution to North East Football.

A toast was raised to former FWA National Secretary Ken Montgomerie who sadly passed away last month.

Amongst those in the room were Phil Brown, John Hendrie, Stephen Pears, Jim Platt, Dennis Tueart, Adam Johnson, Frank Clark and England cricketer Graham Onions

The Latest

To Top