Robin van Persie named FWA Footballer of the Year 2012

Image courtesy of Action Images.

Arsenal captain Robin van Persie has been voted 2012 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The Holland striker, 28, topped the poll of journalists with a landslide victory ahead of Manchester United duo Wayne Rooney in second place and Paul Scholes third with Fulham’s Clint Dempsey fourth.

Van Persie’s 34 goals in all competitions has helped propel the Gunners into the top four of the Barclays Premier League leaving them on the brink of Champions League qualification for next season.

Van Persie – last week named the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year – will receive the prestigious Football Writers’ accolade, which has been running since 1948, at a gala dinner at the Lancaster London Hotel on May 3.

FWA chairman Steve Bates, chief football writer at The People said: “Robin was the overwhelming choice of our members this season and deservedly so after a magnificent campaign for Arsenal.

“The quality of his goals, attacking movement and consistency in a turbulent season for The Gunners has been eye-catching.

“The considerable size of his majority in the votes cast by our members reflected the general view that he has been the season’s most outstanding individual performer.”

We talk to John Cross of The Mirror about a memorable season for FWA Footballer of the Year Robin van Persie…



  1. Pingback: Call for Scholes… | Lee Turnpenny

  2. Pingback: Van Persie scoops FWA Player of the Year | Arseblog News – the Arsenal news site

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top