Suarez named FWA Footballer of the Year 2014

Liverpool v Manchester City - Barclays Premier LeaguePictures: Action Images

Luis Suarez has been voted the 2014 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The Liverpool striker was a hugely popular winner and topped the poll of journalists with a comprehensive victory over Anfield team-mate Steven Gerrard.

Suarez’s 30 goals helped drive Brendan Rodgers’ men to the top of the Barclays Premier League as Liverpool battle it out with Manchester City for their first title since 1990.

The Uruguay international will be honoured with the prestigious FWA accolade, which has been running since 1948, at a gala dinner at the Lancaster London Hotel on May 15.

FWA chairman Andy Dunn, of the Sunday Mirror, said: “Those members who have been fortunate enough to be working at a match involving Luis Suarez have witnessed an astonishing talent first-hand.

“Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination. Add ingenious, impudent finishing and you have a footballer who truly quickens the pulse.”

“Luis is a remarkable gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of our award.”
In a poll that saw 10 different players get votes, Suarez collected 52 per cent of the overall vote, ahead of his club captain, Gerrard, with Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure in third place.

Suarez was last week also named Player of the Year by the Professional Footballers’ Association.



Luis Suarez is presented with his award by FWA chairman Andy Dunn.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top