FWA Student Football Writer of the Year shortlists announced

Prizes to be awarded at the Footballer of the Year dinner on May 25

The FWA Student Football Writer of the Year 2023 attracted more than 500 entries. Submissions came from all over Britain and further afield, including from students in Canada, Nigeria and Qatar. We had a couple of entries from schoolchildren, including a superb piece from a 14 year old. The shortlists in all three categories have been produced, and they represent some really excellent work. And some tough decisions for our judging panels. The winners will be announced at the FWA’s 75th anniversary Footballer of the Year dinner on May 25. But even to make the shortlist is some achievement given the high standards shown. These are submissions that suggest the future of football writing is bright indeed. 

FWA Vikki Orvice Female Student Football Writer of the Year

Elana Shapiro, University of Newcastle

Taylor Ball, Oxford Brookes University

Eleanor Reid, Solent University

Adriana Wehrens, St Mary’s College, London

Alice Wright, De Montfort University

Emilia Hawkins, Brighton

Lara Alsaid, De Montfort University

Juliet Nottingham, University of Derby

Annabella Li, University College London

Maddie Parker, University of Durham

FWA/KickItOut Unheard Voices Student Football Writer of the Year

Morgan Ofori, Goldsmiths College, London

Gopika Parameswaran, Sheffield Hallam University

Shubi Arun, St Mary’s College London

Jack Silberton, Brighton and Hove Sixth Form College

James Young, University of Salford

Julia Belas Trindade, University of Bristol

Pardeep Kalirai, Birmingham City University

Mia Claydon, Manchester Metropolitan University

Sirayah-Shiraz Koraltan, News Associates, London

Neel Shelat, North Western University, Qatar

FWA Hugh McIlvanney Male Student Football Writer of the Year

James Dowden, University of Bristol

Dom Smith, News Asociates London

Harry Robinson, University of Manchester

Joss Gardiner, University of Newcastle

Sajidur Rahman, Solent University

Riley Somerville, University of Derby

Thomas Bartley, University of Warwick

Leon Imber, University of Brighton

Ben Pitkeathly, University of Central Lancashire

George Simms, News Associates London

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top