FedEx European Football Writer of the Year Award

Entries open today until May 1 for our prestigious award, in conjunction with our partners FedEx Express.

Following the success of last season’s inaugural competition, won by Rob Draper, The FWA and FedEx Express are delighted to announce the continuation of the FedEx European Football Writer of the Year Award, exclusively for members of the Football Writers’ Association.

In recognition of FedEx Express’ status as an official sponsor of the UEFA Champions League, we are once again looking for entrants who have covered all aspects of European football as a writer, podcaster or broadcaster. The award is not simply for matchday content, but for entries that show originality, creativity, and a breadth of coverage.

Entrants, who must be members of the FWA, will be asked to supply a maximum of three articles, podcasts or broadcast reports/interviews and will be judged by a four-person panel comprising.

Paul McCarthy – Executive Secretary, FWA

Gary Lineker – BBC and BT Sport Broadcaster

Mike Allen – Former Head of Sport at Reach Publications

Jacqui Oatley – FWA National Committee member and broadcaster

Entries (PDF, link or video) can be from last season’s European competitions (22/23) or this season (23/24) and must be submitted directly to FWA Executive Secretary, Paul McCarthy.

The closing date for entries is May 1, 2024, and the winner will receive their trophy and UEFA Champions League matchday experience for two people for the 2023/24 season, courtesy of FedEx Express, at the Footballer of the Year Dinner on May 17, 2024.

FWA chair, John Cross, said: “We are delighted to continue our relationship with FedEx Express as part of our FWA family of sponsors and are proud that, together, we can recognise and value the magnificent contribution that our members provide to European football on an ongoing basis. We can’t wait to see more of the fantastic pieces this year highlighted by our magnificent judging panel.”

Brenda McWilliams, VP of Communications, Brand & Marketing Operations at FedEx Express, said “After the success of the competition last season, FedEx Express are so happy to be relaunching this competition with the FWA. Journalists play a really important role in football, and their continued dedication is a huge reason for the expansion of the game. We are really looking forward to seeing who will be crowned winner of the award in May.”

Entries open from today March 7 until May 1, 2024. For any queries or more information, contact Paul McCarthy paul@maccamedia.co.uk or 07831 650977

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top