John Cross becomes FWA Chair

Mirror’s Chief Football Writer takes over from outgoing Chair Carrie Brown

John Cross of the Mirror is the new Chair of the Football Writers’ Association. The Mirror’s Chief Football Writer was voted in unanimously at the FWA’s Annual General Meeting on Wednesday September 21, taking over from Carrie Brown, whose three-year-period as Chair has come to a close.

Crossy, as he is known to colleagues, said: “I’m incredibly excited – this is one the proudest days of my career.” Having started at local papers and then Hayters, John has been at the Mirror since 1999 and an FWA member since 2002, the past nine of them on the National Committee.

Carrie became our first female Chair when she took over from Patrick Barclay in 2019: “I wanted to carry on Paddy’s work in creating a younger and more diverse national committee and membership, and we have made great strides in mentoring young people.

“I’m also proud of the work we have done in creating a mental heath helpline, introducing the student football writer awards and opening a pathway for our writers. It has been a privilege to serve the FWA as Chair for the past three years.”

Also voted on to the National Committee, to replace the departing Darren Lewis, was Roshane Thomas of The Athletic. Paul McCarthy was re-elected Executive Secretary, and the national committee was re-elected en-bloc. For more details on NC members, see here: https://footballwriters.co.uk/who-we-are/

Fuller details of the AGM and significant news will be forthcoming next week.

(left to right) Carrie Brown, Roshane Thomas and John Cross
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top