Another Award For Ronaldo

Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo has been voted Footballer of the
Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The 23-year-old Portugal international – who last week was named the
Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year – topped the poll of
journalists ahead of Liverpool striker Fernando Torres and Portsmouth goalkeeper
David James.

It is the second season in succession Ronaldo has received the accolade, now
in its 61st year. Former Arsenal striker Thierry Henry was the last man to
collect the FWA award twice in a row, from 2003 and 2004.

Chairman of the FWA, Paul Hetherington, said: “Ronaldo’s award is no surprise
after his brilliant form this season and incredible goal-scoring record – 38 at
the moment -and he is, of course, essentially a winger.

“Cristiano was an overwhelming winner and, given his age, he has the
potential and ability to dominate this award for years in an unprecedented

Ronaldo – who has helped take United to within touching distance of the
Barclays Premier League title as well as the Champions League final in Moscow –
will receive his award at the FWA’s gala dinner at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in
London on May 15.

The Latest

To Top