Football Writers to join Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame pic

Football’s greatest writers will be honoured alongside the sport’s finest players, managers and teams, thanks to a new partnership between the National Football Museum and the Football Writers’ Association.

The National Football Museum Hall Of Fame will this year see a new Lifetime Achievement award presented to an outstanding sports journalist, thanks to the FWA. The first recipient of the award will be announced at this year’s National Football Museum Hall Of Fame awards at the museum’s Manchester home on Thursday 21 September 2017.

Paddy Barclay, Chairman of the Football Writers’ Association, said: “We are delighted to play a role in preserving and sharing the history of football thanks to this partnership with the National Football Museum Hall Of Fame.

The first recipient of the award is truly a legend among football writers and it will be an honour to see one of our profession recognised alongside so many greats of the sport.”

National Football Museum Marketing Manager Philippa Duxbury said “We’re delighted to be working with the Football Writers’ Association on our prestigious Hall Of Fame awards.

The ever-evolving role of journalists and writers in how we, as fans, perceive and enjoy football is key to the popularity of the game.

We look forward to honouring the first recipient and working with the FWA in the future.”

The National Football Museum Hall Of Fame started in 2002 as the official celebration of the greatest legends of English football.

The original selection panel included Jimmy Hill, Gordon Taylor and the museum’s vice president Sir Trevor Brooking. Inaugural inductees included Sir Bobby Charlton, Bobby Moore, Bill Shankly and pioneering female footballer Lily Parr.

Since then, with the support of The PFA, the awards have gone from strength to strength, with all inductees voting on who joins the Hall Of Fame each year. 123 male and female players, from Tony Adams to Gianfranco Zola, have since been inducted, as well as great managers, iconic teams and, thanks to support from The FA, inspiration figures from the disability game in the Hall’s Football For All category.

This year’s event will see modern-era greats Billy Bonds, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Gary Speed and Bob Wilson honoured. The FA are supporting the induction of Lionesses greats Kelly Smith and Rachel Yankey, and England CP player Alistair Patrick-Heselton. The Hall Of Fame historian panel have also chosen Manchester United’s 1909 FA Cup-winning captain Charlie Roberts for induction.

For more on the National Football Museum, visit this link:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top