FWA to honour Women’s Footballer of the Year

For the first time in the 71 years of the Footballer of the Year award, the members of the Football Writers’ Association will also be honouring the Women’s Footballer of the Year at its annual dinner on May 10.

The decision to break with tradition recognises the development of the women’s game as chairman Patrick Barclay explained: “The FWA simply felt a need to keep pace. Quite a few of our members now work in women’s football and this reflects our belief in equal opportunity.”

The FWA has formed a sub-committee that features leading figures in the women’s game to decide the winner of the inaugural award – including distinguished internationals Alex Scott and Rachel Finnis- Brown, who have 222 England caps between them.

They will serve on the selection panel alongside some of the most highly respected journalists and broadcasters involved in the women’s game including Jacqui Oatley, Jonathan Pearce, Glenn Moore and Jane Dougall.

Arsenal full-back Alex Scott, said: “I am delighted that the FWA have taken this action – I can’t wait to get down to work with the other judges.”

The Women’s Footballer of the Year trophy will be presented on Thursday May 10 at the Landmark Hotel.

For more information, contact Executive Secretary, Paul McCarthy ( or 07831 650977

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top