Footballer of the Year 2017

PrintVoting is now open for the 2017 Footballer of the Year, ahead of the dinner on May 18 at the Landmark Hotel, London.
Jamie Vardy won a hotly-contested vote last May, and it is likely to be just as competitive this season with so many high-profile players in the running.
It will be a special occasion as the FWA marks its 70th anniversary since being formed in 1947, after which Sir Stanley Matthews became the first Footballer of the Year.
Sir Stan was a perfect example of the fundamental principle of the award, which is it should go “to the player who by precept and example, on the field and off, shall be considered to have done the most for football.”
Members will be able to vote online via the FWA website, or by contacting executive secretary Paul McCarthy. The deadline for all votes will be midnight on May 7.

You can see a list of past winners here:



  1. Avatar

    Subhankar Mondal

    April 25, 2017 at 6:26 am


    I am Subhankar Mondal, and I am a full-time football journalist based in Wakefield. I was hoping to get FWA membership. Could you help me with this, please?

    With regards,

    Subhankar Mondal

    • Avatar

      Gerry Cox

      April 25, 2017 at 5:10 pm

      Hi Subhankar, Happy to oblige. Can you give us more details about your work and where you are published please?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top