FWA Student Football Writers of the Year – shortlist announced

Student Football Writer of the Year shortlist

We have had an astonishing 534 entries for our competition, which shows the amount of talent out there in universities and other educational institutions, and also the level of competition for these amazing prizes.

As well as the two trophies, named after our much-loved and much-missed former colleagues Vikki Orvice and Hugh McIlvanney, the winners will receive the five shortlisted titles in the FWA Football Book of the Year Award, free membership of the FWA for a year, an opportunity for work experience, plus the chance to benefit from mentoring from a member of the judging panel. There will also be a £500 prize for both award winners.

Jim White, of the Telegraph and FWA National Committee, has assembled a shortlist of 10 for each prize (below) and now is the time for our judging panel of eminent football writers and broadcasters, including Henry Winter, Alyson Rudd, Paul Hayward, Jacqui Oatley and Jonathan Liew to assess the work. They will be looking for three things: originality, insight and delivery.

The Vikki Orvice Award shortlist is:

Elana Shapiro, Caitlin Bennett, Louisa Keller, Even Morgan, Ella Graunia Cook, Amy Canavan, Cerys Holliday, Maddie Reader.

The Hugh McIlvanney Award shortlist is:

Fred Waine, Jack Tooth, Jacob Tanswell, Toby Bryant, Brendan Pitcher, Elias Baillif, Edmund Brack, Cameron Ponsonby, Adam Barker.

The winners will be announced in May. Good luck to all of you.

The late Vikki Orvice was a trailblazing female football writer.

Hugh McIlvanney was one of the all-time greats of sportswriting.  Pic: John Walton/PA Wire

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Latest

To Top